Date of Award

Spring 5-5-2018

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Arts (MA)



First Advisor

Dr. Shafer Mahoney

Second Advisor

Dr. Catherine Coppola

Third Advisor

Prof. Shafer Mahoney

Academic Program Adviser

Prof. Pundie Burstein



MA Thesis

Matthew O. Thomas, Composer

This Thesis contains two Suites for Solo Instruments: Suite Médiévale for guitar and Seven Recital Studies for Intermediate Grade for piano solo. The recital studies were conceived as a way to fill a void in music literature for beginning advanced pianists; those students not quite ready for the large works of the masters, but are seeking challenging repertoire beyond the formulaic lesson and recital books. Each of the seven is an example of a different style, form, or theoretical concept. Notes for the performer have been included with recommendations for further study or listening.

Suite Médiévale is a four movement work for solo guitar based generally on medieval dance forms; Lament, Base Dance, Pavane, and Trotto. The suite wavers between introspection and frantic dancing, lyric singing and rhythmic gyration, lament and celebration.

Included in

Composition Commons



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.